UT Has Strong Presence at 2017 Southeast Trombone Symposium. Jeanette Velasco wins solo competition.

The Southeast Trombone Symposium is an annual summer trombone workshop hosted by the Schwob School of Music at Columbus State University in Columbus, GA. The 2017 STS was held June 22-27 and included an intense week of competitions, recitals and masterclasses; and performances of solo repertoire, chamber music, and orchestral excerpts by STS students and faculty.

All workshop attendees auditioned and were placed into 3 categories.  UT trombonists, Ryan Murray, Jeanette Velasco and Tim Maines were all selected for the top group of performers – the Participants Class – and each scored very highly in chamber ensemble placements. Additionally, this year’s STS winners included Jeanette Velasco, first prize in the solo competition and Tim Maines, third prize winner. Jeanette is a 2016 BM graduate from UT, while Tim and Ryan are current undergraduate students.

The top competition prize – a new Shires trombone (valued at over $6,000) – was custom built, using modular components, for Jeanette at the symposium.

Previous 1st prize winners in STS Competitions from UT include: Dillon MacIntyre (2016), Sterling Tanner (2015) and Josh Balleza (2014).

Members of the 2017 STS faculty included:  Colin Williams, Assistant Principal Trombone, New York Philharmonic Orchestra; Nathan Zgonc, Assistant Principal Trombone, Atlanta Symphony Orchestra; James Markey, Bass Trombone, Boston Symphony Orchestra; Bill Thomas, Assistant Principal Trombone, Tonhalle-Orchester Zurich; and Bradley Palmer, Professor of Trombone, Columbus State University.


Photo (left to right) – Tim Maines, Gram Lee, Jeanette Velasco, and Ryan Murray